The classic massage in a nutshell

You are comfortably lying in a massage bed, listening to relaxing music. The practitioner hands slide and apply a gentle pressure on your body that takes the stress away. You start to forget your daily routine and your mind focus more and more on what your body feels.

You realize that it’s been a long time since you had a real conversation with your body, you promise to yourself you won’t do that again, you switch off your mind and get lost in the music.

This is a bit poetic but the reality is not too far from that 🙂

The main goal of a classic massage is relaxation, though a bit of pain release can also be tackled. The practitioner will use a bit of oil to be able to slide his hands and apply different massage techniques to release the stress you have been accumulating.

Why should I book a classic massage?

In MedTip we believe that any kind of manual technique has the potential of helping you to feel better. There is some kind of mental and physical release on leaving everything behind and being able to listen to your body thanks to the expert touch of your therapist.

Aside from that, there are several reasons we think you should or you may want to book a classic massage.

  • You never had a massage before
  • You are feeling a light pain in any part of your body
  • You want to have a relaxing moment and do something for yourself

The two last points look clear so we will develop a bit on the first one and we think it is a good idea to book a massage if you never had one.

We think that alternative medicine is the future of healthcare (it is time to start thinking about preventing sickness instead of just waiting to be sick to visit a doctor). It happens that alternative/complementary medicine is the only medicine that puts a focus on prevention, we wrote another post on that.  Manual techniques, as the classic massage, are a good way to discover alternative medicine, so booking a massage means to make the first step into prevention which leads to a healthier society and a better world. Hey, if you don’t do it for yourself do it for the world 🙂

Big dreams apart, playing an active role in prevention is a habit to adopt and like any other habit, it is not about eating right once, going to the gym once or having one massage. Healthy habits need perseverance, self-discovery and choosing what is right for you.

Here is where the relationship with the practitioner becomes important, in MedTip we advocate for building long term relationships with practitioners so they can help you to progress on your general well-being goal. Booking a classic (also called Swedish) massage,  is a good idea if you want to discover manual techniques and also it may give you the opportunity to find a practitioner that suits you and helps you to discover more about preventive medicine.

How do I prepare for a classic massage?

There aren’t any specifics about how to prepare for a classic massage; you should pay attention to the following general advice:

  • Drink a bit more of water than your usual day; hydration will help on the massage.
  • Don’t eat or drink any coffee, alcohol or other stimulants on the 2 hours prior to a massage. If you are hungry or thirsty, satiate yourself but with something light.
  • When wearing high heels bring a pair of flats on the bag and use them after the massage. If you can also bring comfortable clothes with you.
  • Don’t do it on a rush. Arrive 10 minutes earlier and don’t use your phone in the waiting room. Please disconnect 🙂

 

What to do once I arrive at the massage center for a classic massage?

We strongly recommend you to have a discussion with the practitioner about your expectations and preferences prior to the session. Your therapist will appreciate this. By listening to your preferences and needs, the practitioner will be able to adapt the massage to you. This will improve the whole experience and it will make a difference.

Ideally, it should be a discussion that you have comfortably sit in a chair prior to the massage. This discussion will serve as a first stone for the relationship and it’s vital for a good experience. It should be around what brought you here, which kind of massages you prefer (if you have any experience) and maybe what brought you to this cabinet and not others.

Don’t be afraid to communicate a bit about your general feelings lately. Don’t take us wrong, it is not a psychological consultation but don’t feel embarrassed saying that you are a bit stressed for some issues at work or that your partner is driving you crazy lately.

Even though the massage is a manual technique your mind has a big role to play on it. Having a small indication about what is worrying you or how you feel the few last days will be of help for your therapist and helps to build trust.

What to do when I am receiving a classic massage

This is as an easy one. Basically just close your eyes, relax, listen to the music, focus on your body and enjoy. A classic massage is a really enjoyable experience. If anything, pay attention to the below:

  • Pay attention to the temperature of the room once you have undressed, if you feel warm or cold, say it.
  • It is rare but if the music is annoying you or brings any kind of memory, say it.
  • You feel pain or you would like the therapist to spend a little more time on a specific zone, say it.

A massage is a personal experience, the same kind of technique with the same pressure will not be perceived the same way by everyone. Through experience, practitioners have developed the ability to read the body language but they cannot read your mind.

The best advice we can give you is to communicate, we know we repeat ourselves but this is important 🙂 

Most of us feel a bit embarrassed saying to the practitioner what you liked the most or what you didn’t like. Try to communicate. We know constructive criticism is hard to give and receive but you will see that a little effort yields great results.

The technique of classic massage

When you ask for this kind of massage, your therapist has complete freedom to apply all the techniques mastered during his learning journey. Most practitioners have followed courses of diverse techniques and have a really impressive curriculum. On top of that, as in any manual technique, the practice makes the master, therefore, a classic massage without any strict technique pattern to follow is a very powerful tool.

Textbooks speak about different techniques, sliding, kneading, tapping, etc. If you are not familiar with this, don’t worry too much. These are the techniques you will instinctively apply if someone asks you to give a massage. However, your therapist knows much more about it and will find out the ones most suitable for you. He will adapt the techniques to what he feels and also to what you communicate (yup, we just said it again).

Most practitioners will use relaxing music and standard oil or any other way of easing the sliding (cream, talcum, etc.). In case you wonder, standard oils are those providing good sliding capabilities and odourless capabilities. One of the most common is sweet almonds oil.

Average time

The average time for this kind of massage is something in between 45 minutes to 1h30 minutes. For your first session, we will recommend you to keep it to one-hour maximum, you will have time for longer sessions if desired.

Note

In Geneva, there might be confusion between a classic and a sports massage (in French “massage sportif”). The latter is oriented to release specific pains caused by sports practice or to increase the recovery after intense exercising.

Check for classic massage in Geneva on this link.

Liking is goodsharing is caring
Share this post with anyone you think might be interested and help us to spread the word about prevention, you can use the social buttons below

Leave a Reply

Le massage classique en bref

Imaginez-vous confortablement allongé sur un lit de massage, une musique relaxante vous entoure. Les mains du thérapeute appliquent une douce pression pour libérer le stress cumulé. Votre esprit est libre de la pensée quotidienne et vous écoutez attentivement les sensations que votre corps vous transmet.

Vous vous dites que cela faisait longtemps que vous n’aviez pas eu une vraie conversation avec votre corps. Vous vous relaxez davantage et vous laissez emporter par la musique.

Oui, on a mis un peu de poésie, mais la réalité n’est pas très éloignée :).

Le but d’un massage classique est la relaxation, le soulagement d’une douleur faible peut également être pris en charge. Le thérapeute utilisera un peu d’huile pour mieux appliquer diverses techniques de massage afin de créer la relaxation désirée.

Pourquoi devrais-je réserver un massage classique?

Chez MedTip, on croit que tout type de technique manuelle a le potentiel de vous aider à mieux vous sentir. Précisément parce qu’il y a une sorte de libération mentale et physique. Lorsque vous laissez tout derrière vous, que vous ne pensez qu’à vous et vous concentrez sur les sensations de votre corps grâce à la touche experte du thérapeute.

Il y a plusieurs raisons pour lesquelles nous pensons que vous devriez réserver un massage classique.

  • Vous n’avez jamais reçu de massage avant
  • Vous ressentez une légère douleur dans une partie de votre corps
  • Vous avez envie d’un moment de détente et de faire quelque chose, juste pour vous

Chez MedTip, nous croyons dans les relations à long terme avec les praticiens. Nous pensons que les médecines alternatives sont l’avenir du bien-être et de la santé et que les techniques manuelles en sont une partie importante.

Comme toute autre habitude, il ne s’agit pas de manger sainement une seule fois, de faire du sport une seule fois ou de recevoir un seul et unique massage. Changer pour le meilleur demande de la persévérance, de la découverte de soi et l’intelligence de faire les bons choix. Le massage classique est un excellent moyen de découvrir les techniques manuelles et de progresser dans une quête de bien être général.

Comment me préparer pour un massage classique ??

Il n’y a pas préparation spécifique pour un massage classique, vous devez simplement faire attention aux conseils généraux suivants :

  • Buvez un peu plus d’eau que lors d’une journée habituelle, l’hydratation facilite les effets bien être du massage
  • Ne consommez pas de café, d’alcool ou d’autres stimulants pendant les 2 heures précédant un massage. Si vous avez faim ou soif, rassasiez-vous, mais avec quelque chose de léger.ger.
  • Si vous portez des talons hauts, prenez une paire de chaussures confortable avec vous et chaussez-les après le massage. Prenez aussi des vêtements confortables si vous pouvez
  • On ne se presse pas pour arriver au centre de massage. Arrivez 10 minutes en avance et n’utilisez pas votre téléphone dans la salle d’attente. Déconnectez, tout simplement…

Que faire lorsque j’arrive au centre de massage pour un massage classique ?

Notre meilleur conseil est d’avoir une discussion avec le praticien au sujet de vos attentes et préférences avant la session.

Le thérapeute vous en sera reconnaissant. En écoutant vos préférences et besoins, le thérapeute pourra adapter le massage. Cela améliorera toute l’expérience et peut faire la différence entre un bon massage et un massage fantastique.

Idéalement, cette discussion se déroule confortablement assis sur une chaise avant le massage. Normalement le thérapeute vous posera des questions, mais on vous donne quelques idées sur ce qui est important à nos yeux. Vous pouvez par exemple expliquer pourquoi vous vous êtes finalement décidé à réserver un massage. Vous pouvez dire quel type de massages vous préférez (si vous le savez déjà). Expliquez également ce qui vous a amené à ce cabinet plutôt qu’un autre.

N’ayez pas peur de communiquer un peu sur votre état d’esprit des derniers temps. Attention, ce n’est pas une consultation psychologique, mais si vous êtes un peu stressé par le travail ou si votre vie de couple vous rend fou dernièrement, vous pouvez le dire.

Même si le massage est une technique manuelle, votre esprit joue un rôle important dans l’expérience. Avoir une petite indication sur ce qui vous inquiète ou ce que vous ressentez ces derniers jours sera utile pour le thérapeute et vous aidera tous deux à établir une relation de confiance.

Que faire pendant que je reçois un massage classique?

Facile. Détendez-vous, écoutez la musique, focalisez-vous sur votre corps et profitez. Un massage classique est une expérience vraiment agréable, voici deux ou trois points à prendre en compte :

  • Faites attention à la température de la pièce une fois que vous êtes déshabillé. Si vous avez chaud ou froid, dites-le
  • C’est rare, mais si la musique vous gêne, dites-le
  • Si vous ressentez une quelconque douleur ou souhaitez que le thérapeute passe un peu plus de temps sur une zone spécifique, dites-le

Un massage est quelque chose de personnel, le même type de technique appliquée avec la même pression n’est pas perçu de la même manière par tout le monde. Au cours des années les thérapeutes ont appris à interpréter le langage du corps, mais ils ne peuvent pas lire dans vos pensées.

Le meilleur conseil que nous pouvons vous donner pour un massage est de vous exprimer. On se répète un peu, mais le message est important 🙂

Ne vous laissez pas emporter par la gêne polie. Essayez de communiquer ce qui vous passe par la tête. On sait que la critique constructive n’est pas facile ni à faire ni à recevoir, mais un petit effort produit de grands résultats.

La technique du massage classique

Dans le massage classique le thérapeute a latitude totale pour utiliser toutes les techniques maîtrisées dans son parcours d’apprentissage. La plupart des praticiens ont suivi des cours de diverses techniques et leur curriculum est très impressionnant. En plus de cela, comme dans toute technique manuelle, la pratique fait le métier, un massage classique est un outil très puissant dans la découverte des massages.

Les manuels parlent de différents groupes de techniques : le pétrissage, la friction, la vibration, etc. Si vous ne connaissez pas ces mouvements, ne vous inquiétez pas trop. Ce sont des techniques que vous appliqueriez instinctivement si quelqu’un vous demandait de faire un massage. Cependant, votre thérapeute en sait beaucoup plus et trouvera celles qui vous conviennent le mieux. Il adaptera les techniques à ce qu’il ressent et à ce que vous lui communiquez. La plupart des thérapeutes utilisent de la musique relaxante et une huile standard ou un autre outil pour faciliter son geste (crème, talc, etc.). Les huiles standard sont celles qui ont de bonnes capacités de glisse et sont inodores. Une huile de base très utilisée est l’huile d’amande douce.

Durée moyenne

Le temps moyen pour ce type de massage est entre 45 minutes et 1h30 minutes. Pour la première session, on recommande de faire une heure maximum, t’auras le temps pour des sessions plus longues si tu le souhaites.

Remarque

À Genève, il peut y avoir confusion entre un massage classique et un massage sportif. Ce dernier a pour objectif de libérer des douleurs spécifiques causées par la pratique sportive ou améliorer la récupération après un exercice intense.

Trouvez un massage classique à Genève sur ce lien.

Laisser un commentaire